explore sense of touch with a SENSORY WALK

This activity came to me on the fly.  We were about to take a walk, and I thought it would be fun to add a little something extra.  So I made the kids wait a few minutes longer while I grabbed a piece of paper and a sharpie.  I think the kids approved, this activity ended up being a keeper!

what you need:  paper ~ sharpie ~ scissors ~ a space to walk

I didn’t have time to get out the ruler (as if I would have anyway), so I folded the paper to make a bunch of rectangles.  I started listing words that describe things we touch.  I only came up with 8. . . give me a break I had two kids begging me to hurry up!  I tried to make the words opposites as well as descriptive.  I used; cold, warm, soft, hard, rough, smooth, moist, dry.  I can’t wait to hear what you come up with. Oh yeah, then cut on the lines.

Once we were outside I handed each of the kids a word.  I let them look at it for a minute before I told them what it said.  The directions for this activity are simple; find an object that feels that way.

Instantly they were off.
I could not believe how excited the kids were about these words.  They searched, really thinking about what they were supposed to find.  Big M went through words so fast, I could barely keep up.  I thought he would be tired of it once he had found something for each word, but I was wrong.  He brought me some moist moss at the very end of our walk.  I think next time I’ll let him come up with some descriptive words of his own.
To explore the sense of touch through this weeks lesson plan, come back for Bean Play, Reverse Finger Paint and Mystery Bag.

 

About Jillian

I love to create. I have tried many different mediums; sewing, cake decorating and storytelling are some of my very favorites. I have been a stay at home mom for 5 years (with a brief part time job somewhere in there.) Before I became a Mommy, I was co owner and teacher of a home family child care. I plan to jump right back into teaching preschool as soon as my kids are in school.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Movement and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to explore sense of touch with a SENSORY WALK

  1. What a great idea. I love the fact that you’re doing something fun, and learning all at the same time! Way creative!

  2. Pingback: count and move with BALLOON DICE | amomwithalessonplan

Leave a Reply

