reach in the MYSTERY BAG. . . a sense of touch game

This Mystery Bag activity reminds me a lot of Disappearing Shapes.  Mostly because I used them a lot when I was teaching preschool.  They are both so easy to set up that they make great time filler activities.  Plus, by changing the items you use, the activity becomes a whole new game!

what you need: two bags, items (I used 10)

I think the hardest part of this is collecting the items in secret.  I mean. . . I think kids have some type of Mommy sensor that brings them curiously to your leg the second you think you have a moment alone.  I decided to collect these items the night before, but it can be done quickly if you decide to do this at a moments notice.


When I collected the items for our mystery bag, I tried to vary the texture and size.  I also wanted a few items that were really obvious and some that would be a little more of a challenge.  Start with all of the items in one bag and bring another bag with you.  Make sure the bags are NOT see through.   Take one item (in a very sneaky way, so no one sees) and put it in the second bag.  I had them close their eyes, but didn’t trust one bit that they actually did close their eyes!

 

 

 

At this point I started talking about how they would be able to figure out what was in the bag.  Would they use their sense of hearing?  (I added a visual by putting my ear to the bag.)  Could they figure out what was in the bag by using their since of smell?

 

 

 

 

 

Once it was time to reach in, T.L. my oh so silly niece, went first.  She felt the item and we talked about what she felt.  Is the item smooth, rough, hard, squishy, big, or small?

 

 

 

 

As she guessed, I questioned her answers.  I asked for more details and guided her away from answers that were not exactly correct.  “Oh it feels like a fork?  A fork has four points on the end, does that item have four points?  No? Do you have another guess.”  Once she knew what she was feeling I had her pull it out.

 

 

 

Tips(to maximize learning):  1.  The mystery bag is the perfect addition to your letter of the week.  Simply fill the bag with items that start with your letter of the week.  2.  If your little one is having a hard time figuring out what the item is, add in some clues.  Where would you find this item?  What would it be used with?  3.  Have your little one take a turn finding items for you!

What items did you put in your bag?  Leave me a comment!

About Jillian

I love to create. I have tried many different mediums; sewing, cake decorating and storytelling are some of my very favorites. I have been a stay at home mom for 5 years (with a brief part time job somewhere in there.) Before I became a Mommy, I was co owner and teacher of a home family child care. I plan to jump right back into teaching preschool as soon as my kids are in school.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Language and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to reach in the MYSTERY BAG. . . a sense of touch game

  1. Pingback: letter of the week. . .week ~ M BAG | amomwithalessonplan

Leave a Reply

