Work on numbers with VALENTINES memory

Valentines Day is right around the corner. . .can you feel the love?  I whipped up this little game to give M and M a little practice recognizing numbers as well as to stretch  their memory muscles.  They took a little bit of time to put together, but it was fun and well worth the effort.

what you need:  valentine memory numbers ~ red and white construction paper ~  heart stickers ~ glue

Print out 2 sheets of the valentine memory numbers and cut on the line.  I took a piece of red construction paper and folded it until I had eight rectangles.  Then I creased the edges and cut along the creases.  I did the same with the white until I had rectangles about half the size of the red ones.  I glued the numbers onto the white construction paper and then glued those onto the red construction paper.

I sat down with the kids and asked them to put heart stickers onto the cards. I asked them to tell me what number was on the card they were holding and to count out that many stickers.  (example: Put 5 hearts on the 5 card)
As for the game, lay all the cards out face down in rows.  Have one of your little ones turn over 2 cards.  Are they a match?  If so, great they can keep them and take another turn.  If not have them turn both of the cards back over and play moves on to the next player.
Tips(to maximize learning): 1. I really wanted to focus on the numbers 11-20, but if your kids are younger only make 1-10.  2.  Make sure each player says the number that they turn over out loud, it will help reinforce the number recognition.

Happy learning. . .I mean playing!

About Jillian

I love to create. I have tried many different mediums; sewing, cake decorating and storytelling are some of my very favorites. I have been a stay at home mom for 5 years (with a brief part time job somewhere in there.) Before I became a Mommy, I was co owner and teacher of a home family child care. I plan to jump right back into teaching preschool as soon as my kids are in school.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Math and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

