Mommy Fun Fact # 7

#7  open ended questions

You may have noticed that I add questions to each of the activities.   Most of those questions are open ended. An open ended question is one that has no right answer (more importantly, no wrong answer) and requires kids to think.  “I see you’re building a track; can you tell me about this area?” “Why do you think the illustrator decided to make this picture green?”  “That girl looks so sad.  What might have happened to make her so sad?  What might cheer her up?”

Open ended questions are important because they force kids to give more than a yes or no answer.  With a simple question they are building listening skills (to give a full answer you have to actually hear the question), thinking skills, and language skill.

Try out some open ended questions and post them here.  I can’t wait to hear all about your experience!

 

About Jillian

I love to create. I have tried many different mediums; sewing, cake decorating and storytelling are some of my very favorites. I have been a stay at home mom for 5 years (with a brief part time job somewhere in there.) Before I became a Mommy, I was co owner and teacher of a home family child care. I plan to jump right back into teaching preschool as soon as my kids are in school.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Mommy Fun Facts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

