Blogging challenge, RSS, and Mommy's turn to do a little learning!

I am taking a little break from posting Mommy Fun Facts for a couple of Sundays to give you a little glimpse at some of the things I’m learning.  I’ll share a little secret with you.  I do not get this techy stuff, in fact I am not even sure that I should be calling it techy.  I actually spent 3 hours figuring out how to get my post single spaced instead of double spaced.  (You have to hold the shift key while you hit enter. . .in case I’m not the only one).

The really great thing about it though, is that I LOVE to learn new things.  I could ask my hubby to just do some of this stuff for me, once in a while I break down and hand over control, but for the most part I want to figure it out on my own.

I signed up for the 31 days to build a better blog challenge, and oh boy there is a lot to learn!  Basically the challenge is walking us (a little over one hundred bloggers and I) through 31 tasks laid out by Darren Rowse in his ebook.

I am on day 6, and finding that the hardest part is being able to stop!  Each task opens up ideas and topics that I have never even considered exploring.  For instance RSS.

So. . .do you know what RSS is???  I did not until a few days ago.  RSS stands for ‘Really Simple Syndication’.  Now remember, I’m REALLY new to this.  I am NOT an RSS expert but I AM really excited about it.  (Did you notice the little orange RSS button on the sidebar of my blog?)

I use gmail, so I can only tell you my experience with igoogle.

to subscribe
1.  Click the RSS button on your favorite blogs.  (ummmm THIS ONE!)
2.  Select the place that you would like the feed to show up. (In my case, google).
3.  Google will ask whether to add it to your google homepage or your google reader. (I choose google homepage.)

to see the feed
1.  Visit igoogle.
2.  Hit sign in.  (It’s in the upper right corner).
3.  Enter your gmail username and password.

There are a lot of blogs that I visit daily, you can see those here.  Now I can log into my gmail, check to see if there is anything in my inbox and quickly see if there are any new posts at these selected sites.  I LOVE IT!  Do you want to give it a try? Click here!

Subscribe

If you have a blog and you want to set RSS up you’ll have to ask my hubby, this is one I couldn’t get my brain around.

What am I missing?  Leave me a comment if there is something else I need to know about RSS, or if you can give another reader tips on how to subscribe with something other than google.

 

About Jillian

I love to create. I have tried many different mediums; sewing, cake decorating and storytelling are some of my very favorites. I have been a stay at home mom for 5 years (with a brief part time job somewhere in there.) Before I became a Mommy, I was co owner and teacher of a home family child care. I plan to jump right back into teaching preschool as soon as my kids are in school.
This entry was posted in Blogging and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

