enjoy the drops with an experimental RAIN WALK

Have you ever met a kid who didn’t love to play in the rain?  We had a great time walking, splashing and learning in a downpour over the weekend.  Lucky for me, Auntie L took over the instruction and I was able to stay behind the camera.

what you need:  small objects ~ full gutters

We gathered objects from around the house.

We played around by dropping the objects into gutters.  Some gutters were flat, some gutters on a  slight slope.   Some gutters were filled with water racing down hill.
Once we had some practice with the objects and the streams, we decided to race.  Big M picked our course and we each picked our players.
Can you guess which object was the fastest?  Auntie L won with the stick of fake butter.  My penny didn’t even finish, sunk right to the bottom (does that sound planned?)

We had so much fun, learned a little and ran off some excess energy.  Oh I love a rainy day!
Questions (to ask your kids):  “What is the difference between the object that moves the fastest, and the one that moves the slowest?”  “Does the object move the same no matter how it is pointed?”  “Does the hill slope change the speed of the object?”

Tips (to maximize learning):  1.  I had the activity planned and ready for the perfect rain fall.  Not enough rain and the gutters would be empty.  Too much rain and it would be a miserable walk.  I kept an eye on the window and when I thought the timing was perfect we were ready to go.  2. I planned ahead.  I had towels and robes waiting at the front door.  I left the wet clothes on the porch, wrapped M and M, then it was off to a nice warm bath!

Looking for a nice cozy activity to complete this rainy day?  Check out Homemade Playdough and Portraits.

About Jillian

I love to create. I have tried many different mediums; sewing, cake decorating and storytelling are some of my very favorites. I have been a stay at home mom for 5 years (with a brief part time job somewhere in there.) Before I became a Mommy, I was co owner and teacher of a home family child care. I plan to jump right back into teaching preschool as soon as my kids are in school.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Science, Skills and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

