play in the rain. . .experimenting with MATERIALS

I am feeling pretty quiet today.  Not my chatty self. . . WEIRD!  I have a great project to share though, so follow the pictures with brief descriptions and don’t worry I’ll have plenty to say tomorrow.

what you need: rain ~ objects made of different materials

We used cotton fabric, a metal bowl, a plastic toy, a paper towel, a stick, and cardboard.
M and M put them in the rain.
We waited. . .and yes all of Little M’s clothes are backward.
The kids got a little wet, not too bad though!
We talked about the objects.  Did they look any different? Did the kids think the rain had affected the materials in any way?
We touched, pulled and then discussed our findings.

Have fun and stay dry!

About Jillian

I love to create. I have tried many different mediums; sewing, cake decorating and storytelling are some of my very favorites. I have been a stay at home mom for 5 years (with a brief part time job somewhere in there.) Before I became a Mommy, I was co owner and teacher of a home family child care. I plan to jump right back into teaching preschool as soon as my kids are in school.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Science and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to play in the rain. . .experimenting with MATERIALS

  1. What a great idea! I will have to try it next time it rains.

  2. Mary says:

    Hi ~ found you through No Time For Flashcards. This is a great idea. It is the simple things that our little ones learn the most from. I look forward to following your blog!

    • Jillian says:

      Welcome! I agree it is the simple activities that are the best received. Maybe because they are so simple that Mom can be totally focused and not fussing over details!

Leave a Reply

