Letter of the week ~ J ~ Jellybean stain

This one was an experiment.  When I taught preschool we always glued jellybeans onto the letter J.  Of course, I wanted to see if I could mix it up a bit.  Have you ever been eating jellybeans, and found your hands stained with jelly bean color?  It wondered what would happen if we dipped the jellybeans in water and then painted with them.

what you need: Letter J ~ construction paper ~ glue ~ jelly beans

Prep the letter by printing, cutting and then gluing it onto a piece of construction paper.  Set out a bowl with jelly beans (don’t put more than you want your little one to eat. . .they’ll get eaten).  Have your kids drip water over the jelly beans.
Once the jelly beans were a little wet, I told M and M to get busy painting.  It worked almost as well as I’d hoped.  There was a lot more eating than painting going on.
The key is to use very little water.  Big M’s paper ripped from too much water.  But the jelly beans did stain the paper.
Have you ever seen Little M’s art so clean?  I guess she loves candy even more than covering her entire paper!

For Letters A – I click here.  To make sure you don’t miss K – Z, subscribe to amomwithalessonplan.com by email subscription at the bottom of this page or my RSS Feed by clicking here .

About Jillian

I love to create. I have tried many different mediums; sewing, cake decorating and storytelling are some of my very favorites. I have been a stay at home mom for 5 years (with a brief part time job somewhere in there.) Before I became a Mommy, I was co owner and teacher of a home family child care. I plan to jump right back into teaching preschool as soon as my kids are in school.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Letter of the Week, Letters. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Letter of the week ~ J ~ Jellybean stain

  1. What a cute idea, but I think my Little Miss would eat every jellybean I gave her. I am enjoying your preschool ideas and I am filing them away for future use.

    • Jillian says:

      Yeah, I’m so glad to hear that! And glad to have you here. Little M did eat every jellybean, but I got her to paint a bit with them first. When we used to glue them it was a big deal. . . don’t want little ones eating glue. But with just water she was able to do the project and eat the candy.

  2. Krissa says:

    We did the same thing for “J” week: http://www.morethanmundane.com/2011/01/29/j-is-for/
    Now we are up to “R” and I’m going to have her stick jelly beans on a rainbow…I love finding fun activities that also help with her small motor skills. I will have to try the water thing, sounds like a great idea!

    • Jillian says:

      Last year we used fruit loops to decorate a rainbow. M and M have been begging me to do it again. Jelly beans on a rainbow would be really fun too. Great sorting practice.

  3. TP Craft says:

    Great letter J activity. I never thought to use the jelly beans for coloring. My son would probably try to eat them all.

    • Jillian says:

      I actually refrained from tasting those delicious little candies, but if I’d been painting with them I don’t think I would have been able to resist.

  4. JDaniel4's Mom says:

    This is such a cool way to paint!

  5. Miranda says:

    Awe, such a great idea! I will have to check out the other letters because I need some great new ABC ideas for my preschooler. The water stain would never meet the letter J in my house. The beans would be gone before I got the water 🙂

Leave a Reply

