singing while we work. . .GARDENING song

I love to sing, always have, so we sing A LOT around here.  When we find a great song we can be heard singing it all day, and the best songs are the ones that can be added to or changed slightly to fit the topic of the moment.  Monday I shared with you the beginnings of our little garden.  We sang while we worked.  Luckily I had the perfect song tucked away for this exact activity!!!  This one is so wonderful, I wish you could hear the tune. . .I guess you’ll just have to buy the C.D.

“Seeds” is one of the many fabulous songs from Bev Bos and Michael Leemans I’ll Sing for You & Handed Down Album.  The lyrics are written specifically for preschool children, easy to remember, and have stuck with me for 10 years.

“Seeds”
Written by Bev Bos and Michael Leeman
(Since you don’t have the tune you’ll just have to make one up.  I’m sure your little one won’t mind!)

A lot of trees start from seeds so small
you have to look close or you can’t see them at all
It’s hard to believe trees grow so tall from
seeds that start so small.

Well the sun comes up,  the sun comes up
and the rain comes down, the rain comes down.
The seeds get planted in the fertile ground
If you listen real close you can hear the sound. . .of the trees starting to grow.

 

We swapped out the word TREES and replaced it with Tomatoes.  We sang it a few more times covering all of the seeds we planted.

Tips (to maximize learning):  1.  Sing, sing, sing.  DON’T WORRY ABOUT HOW YOU SOUND!!!!  Your little one is not going to care if you don’t hit the note.  The more you sing, the more your kid will sing. . .doesn’t that sound worth it?  2. Add hand motions while you sing. 3. This song really lends itself to a discussion. . .take advantage of that.

Questions (to ask your kids):  “After listening to the song, can you think of something that a plant needs to grow?”  “Can you tell me something that grows?” (Sing that!)

Come back tomorrow to see our research journals.

About Jillian

I love to create. I have tried many different mediums; sewing, cake decorating and storytelling are some of my very favorites. I have been a stay at home mom for 5 years (with a brief part time job somewhere in there.) Before I became a Mommy, I was co owner and teacher of a home family child care. I plan to jump right back into teaching preschool as soon as my kids are in school.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Music, Skills and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to singing while we work. . .GARDENING song

  1. Pingback: painting a still life. . .GARDENING portrait | amomwithalessonplan

Leave a Reply

