Letter of the week ~ L ~ Lacing

Unfortunately the letter L bombed big time in our house.  Not once, but twice!  My first attempt was to do a little Leaf Rubbing onto a piece of paper with the Letter L.  Apparently leaf rubbing and I do not mix.  Have you tried it?  Leaf rubbing sounds really simple, but I can not make it work.  If you can give me some pointers, please do.  I don’t want M and M to grow up unable to preform leaf rubbing!!! How tragic!

The second attempt was not as big of a miss, but I would not call it a success either.   The actual project is fine. . .Little M just wasn’t interested.

what you need: Letter L ~ construction paper ~ glue ~ scissors ~ hole punch ~ yarn ~ pipe cleaner
Prepare the L and give your little one some time to lace the yarn onto it.
Of course if your kid is anything like my kid. . .they’ll find more creative options.

Next weeks lesson plan is to spot light the Letter of the Week with extra activities and even more letter books!!!

 

 

About Jillian

I love to create. I have tried many different mediums; sewing, cake decorating and storytelling are some of my very favorites. I have been a stay at home mom for 5 years (with a brief part time job somewhere in there.) Before I became a Mommy, I was co owner and teacher of a home family child care. I plan to jump right back into teaching preschool as soon as my kids are in school.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Letter of the Week, Letters and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Letter of the week ~ L ~ Lacing

  1. My kids love to do leaf rubbings with fall colors. Cute idea for lacing!

  2. Miranda says:

    We did leaf rubbings last week. I know what you mean, kind of tricky! I think the trick is to try using bright crayons or chalk, and some leaves work better than others – maybe fresher ones?

Leave a Reply

