letter of the week. . .week ~ LETTER SOUND GAMES

Playing with letter sounds is so much fun, we are always finding new ways to add in a little practice.  In fact tonight after our story I asked M and M to give me a word that started with the letter M before they were carried off to bed.  They answered so quickly, I decided to make it a little more challenging.  “Can you think of a word that ends with the letter M?” That was a bit too difficult, but it did get Daddy in on the game.

2 letter sound games

  1. Up the Stairs.  When it is time to go upstairs I have M and M stand on the bottom step.  We take turns picking a letter.  For that letter we each try to come up with one word.  If one of them guesses incorrectly I simply say.  “Baseball.  B B B. Baseball, starts with B.  Let’s try M again.  M M M.”  With each answer, correct or not, we take one step.  The game ends when we reach the top.
  2. Name Game.  I came up with this one a long time ago, when I was trying to get Big M to say goodbye to some family and friends.  I lean over and whisper in his ear, “Can you say goodbye to someone who’s name starts with a J.” Then I over emphasize the J sound a few times.  If he seems to be stumped I’ll repeat the question and then add  a clue.  “Can you say goodbye to someone who’s name starts with a J and who also wears glasses?”

What letter sound games do you play?

About Jillian

I love to create. I have tried many different mediums; sewing, cake decorating and storytelling are some of my very favorites. I have been a stay at home mom for 5 years (with a brief part time job somewhere in there.) Before I became a Mommy, I was co owner and teacher of a home family child care. I plan to jump right back into teaching preschool as soon as my kids are in school.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Language, Letter activities, Letters, Skills and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to letter of the week. . .week ~ LETTER SOUND GAMES

  1. Ofelia says:

    However, these are the most functional for readers.
    The sites mentioned here provide basic templates that can be used for both personal
    and commercial publications, but aren’t always readily compatible with online publishers. For long time of Mobile Reading, Eink screen display with paper books, do not hurt the eye, light can read and standby time super and no radiation benefits, this can’t
    match other TFT LCD screen, so when choose and buy, want
    to look for the Eink electronic ink, appear on the market now ebook reader some of the Li – Gui and confusing, the so-called 5 inch TFT screens six inches of
    “ebook”, has the formidable entertainment function,
    can listen to music, watching movies on the Internet to play games, in fact the only magnified version of the MP4, rather
    than the real ebook reader.

Leave a Reply

