more Easter fun with PAINTED EGGS

When I was deciding how to color eggs this year, I wanted to do something really special.  I search the web and still didn’t find what I was looking for.  Then we brought out our stack of Easter books, and I had an idea!  Ohhhh and it turned out to be a good one.

P.S. I am crying on my key board because (BY COMPLETE MISTAKE!) I deleted half of the pictures for this activity.  So even though I’d like to walk away and do laundry, I’m sucking it up and following through with the write up.  Hope you like it.

what you need: eggs ~ pin or needle ~ paint ~ egg carton

I blew out the insides of the eggs we used.  It ended up being harder than I expected, but well worth it.  Prick the top of your egg with a needle, then prick the bottom (this hole needs to be bigger).  I found that using a straight pin worked the best and did the least amount of damage to the egg.  Stick the pin all the way into the egg and break the yolk.  Then blow from the smaller hole.  Once the egg is empty rinse the inside with a little water and blow again.  Let them dry.

For the cute little stand I cut one cup from an egg carton, flipped it over, and made a hole big enough for the egg to rest.  Once the eggs were all dry, I painted them black to make a fancy little stand.

Since it has been such beautiful spring weather we did this project outside.  I laid our art mat on the drive way.  Our art mat, in case you missed 9 things i LOVE about my art cabinet, is a cut up $5 table cloth.  I use the smaller pieces as personal place mats when the kids are working solo.  The bigger one is for when everyone is doing art, when we want to do art in front of the fire or when we want to do an outside art project.

I filled egg cartons with paint, every color we have.  I supplied small paintbrushes.  I set everything out before calling M and M over.

We read The Paintbrush Bunny by Adrienne Adams.

Orson, a young bunny, learns the importance of hard work as he joins his family painting everything in sight.  By the end of the book he is an expert painter.  He joins his mother and father painting over 1200 eggs just in time for Easter.  He even invents his own line of specialty eggs.

M and M had a great time painting their eggs. . .

and I have a adorable new decorations to display!

How do you plan to decorate your eggs?

About Jillian

I love to create. I have tried many different mediums; sewing, cake decorating and storytelling are some of my very favorites. I have been a stay at home mom for 5 years (with a brief part time job somewhere in there.) Before I became a Mommy, I was co owner and teacher of a home family child care. I plan to jump right back into teaching preschool as soon as my kids are in school.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Art, Book Reviews, Skills and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to more Easter fun with PAINTED EGGS

  1. Pingback: Book Review ~ Easter | amomwithalessonplan

Leave a Reply

